Ceann Comhairle presents National Bravery Awards for outstanding feats of courage

Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett, TD, presented awards in recognition of outstanding acts of bravery at a national ceremony in Farmleigh House today.

The honours are awarded by Comhairle na Mire Gaile – the Deeds of Bravery Council – which was established in 1947 to provide for suitable recognition by the State of deeds of bravery. The Council, which is chaired by the Ceann Comhairle, includes the Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann, the Lord Mayor of Dublin, the Lord Mayor of Cork, the Garda Commissioner, the President of the Association of City & County Councils and the Chairman of the Irish Red Cross.

Click here to read the full press release