The Council of the National Bravery Awards will launch a new website to promote the national awards in Leinster House, tomorrow, Wednesday at 12.15pm

The website is a simple to access one-stop-shop for all information on the awards. It is designed to provide the public with greater information about who the awards are open to, how somebody is nominated, how the awards are decided, the various award categories, previous recipients and the history of the awards.

Ceann Comhairle and Chairman of the National Bravery Awards Council, Seán Barrett, TD, said: “In the absence of an honours system that other countries have, the National Bravery Awards are the only means by which we can mark our citizens carrying out an act of bravery.

The Awards are given to people from all walks of life and all sections of the community who have saved a human life which involved a personal risk to them. These honours are richly deserved and the awards are a fitting tribute and recognise heroic acts by members of the public as well as members of our emergency services, many of whom without regard for their own personal safety, put their lives on the line to help others.

It is important that these courageous acts of bravery are acknowledged and, with the launch of this website, not only are we hoping that the public at large become more aware of the National Bravery Awards and heroic acts carried by our citizens, we are also providing easily accessible information so that people can have all the information at hand to nominate somebody they know who has acted in a brave and selfless manner to help others.”


For further information please contact:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Notes to the editor:

The Council of the National Bravery Awards is chaired by the Ceann Comhairle. He will be joined at the website launch by fellow council members David J O’Callaghan, Chairman of the Irish Red Cross and Cllr Hillary Quinlan, President of the Association of City and County Councils.